English » Undergraduate Studies » Curriculum

The studies in the Department of Physics of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens are demanding, but also fully modernized and competitive internationally. According to international rankings, the Department is one of the strongest in the University, having recently been ranked among the top 75-100 Physics Departments in the world (Academic Ranking of World Universities, 2017).

The main undergraduate cycle of studies (curriculum) lasts for four (4) years and leads to a BSc in Physics with a total number of ECTS credits of 240. The four years of study are divided into eight (8) semesters, each of which lasts 13 weeks. The average daily attendance by students ranges between 4 and 5 hours, thereby corresponding to an average of 22 hours per week. The program requires a choice of a specialization in the middle of the 3rd year, so that during the 4th and final year a student may choose a specific group of physics courses according to his/her preferences and special interests.

These general specializations are: i) Solid State Physics; ii) Nuclear & Elementary Particle Physics; iii) Astrophysics, Astronomy & Mechanics; iv) Environmental Physics & Meteorology; v) Electronics, Computers, Telecommunications & Control. They correspond to the five (5) Sections comprising the Department of Physics.

The choice of specialization is possible after the student has been successfully tested in at least 15 courses and the corresponding laboratories of the first 5 semesters.