Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer

Department of Physics


The Department of Physics disposes of a congress hall, lecture halls, classrooms, conference room, reading room, laboratories with modern equipment and high-speed internet connection. Specifically, the Department’s infrastructure consists of:

  • Four (4) lecture halls with live streaming and recording equipment:
    • "Hipparchus" (208 seats)
    • "Demokritus" (208 seats)
    • "Thales" (208 seats)
    • "Aristarchus" (242 seats)
  • Seven (7) central classrooms:
    • "Karapiperis" (49 seats)
    • "Hondros" (49 seats)
    • "Heron" (50 seats)
    • "Kotsakis" (63 seats)
    • "Anastasiadis" (63 seats)
    • "Heraclitus" (70 seats)
    • "Archimedes" (90 seats)
  • Classrooms/seminar rooms and libraries in the five Departmental Sections
  • Congress Hall "Aristotle" (285 seats) with live streaming and recording equipment
  • Conference room
  • Reading room
  • Computer center (60 seats)
  • Observatory (Gerostathopoulion University Observatory)
  • Cosmic Ray Station
  • Specialized educational and research laboratories in the different Sections
  • Laboratory of Physics "Caesar Alexopoulos" and its machine shop
  • The IASA building, with office and laboratory space, and a Computing Cluster connected to the European Grid and Cloud computing infrastructure